top of page

Basic Church Teachings


This page lists some basic teachings of the Catholic Church for quick reference. If you have any questions about the teachings here or if you would like more information, please feel free to call the parish office at (301) 373-2281.


The Ten Commandments (Ex 20: 1-17)

1. I am the Lord thy God, who brought thee out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage. Thou shalt not have strange gods before me.

2. Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain.

3. Keep holy the Sabbath day.

4. Honor thy father and thy mother.

5. Thou shalt not kill.

6. Thou shalt not commit adultery.

7. Thou shalt not steal.

8. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.

9. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's wife.

10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's goods.


The Greatest Commandment (Mt 22: 36-40)

Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with thy whole heart, and with thy whole soul, and with thy whole mind. This is the greatest and the first commandment. And the second is like to this: Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself. On these two commandments dependeth the whole law and the prophets.


The Beatitudes According to St. Matthew (Mt 5: 1-12)

1. Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

2. Blessed are the meek: for they shall possess the land.

3. Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.

4. Blessed are they that hunger and thirst after justice: for they shall have their fill.

5. Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.

6. Blessed are the clean of heart: for they shall see God.

7. Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called children of God.

8. Blessed are they that suffer persecution for justice' sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

9. Blessed are ye when they shall revile you, and persecute you, and speak all that is evil against you, untruly, for my sake: Be glad and rejoice, for your reward is very great in heaven.


The Beatitudes According to St. Luke (Lk 6: 20-26)

1. Blessed are ye poor, for yours is the kingdom of heaven.

2. Blessed are ye that hunger now: for you shall be filled.

3. Blessed are ye that weep now: for you shall laugh.

4. Blessed shall you be when men shall hate you, and when they shall separate you, and shall reproach you, and cast out your name as evil, for the Son of Man's sake. Be glad in that day and rejoice; for behold, your reward is great in heaven.

5. But woe to you that are rich: for you have your consolation.

6. Woe to you that are filled: for you shall hunger.

7. Woe to you that now laugh: for you shall mourn and weep.

8. Woe to you when men shall bless you: for according to these things did their fathers to the false prophets.


Precepts of the Church (from the Catechism of the Catholic Church #2041-2043)

1. You shall attend Mass on Sundays and on holy days of obligation and rest from servile labor.

2. You shall confess your sins at least once a year.

3. You shall receive the sacrament of the Eucharist at least during the Easter season.

4. You shall observe the days of fasting and abstinence established by the Church.

5. You shall help to provide for the needs of the Church.


The Corporal Works of Mercy

1. Feed the hungry.

2. Give drink to the thirsty.

3. Clothe the naked.

4. Shelter the homeless.

5. Visit the sick.

6. Ransom the captive.

7. Bury the dead.


The Spiritual Works of Mercy

1. Instruct the ignorant.

2. Counsel the doubtful.

3. Admonish sinners.

4. Bear wrongs patiently.

5. Forgive offenses.

6. Comfort the afflicted.

7. Pray for the living and the dead.


The Seven Sacraments

1. Baptism

2. Reconciliation

3. Eucharist

4. Confirmation

5. Marriage

6. Holy Orders

7. Anointing of the Sick


Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit (Is 11: 2-3)

1. Wisdom

2. Understanding

3. Knowledge

4. Fortitude

5. Piety

6. Right judgment

7. Fear of the Lord


Twelve Fruits of the Holy Spirit (from Gal 5: 22-23)

1. Charity

2. Joy

3. Peace

4. Patience

5. Benignity

6. Goodness

7. Longanimity (perseverance in suffering)

8. Mildness

9. Faith

10. Modesty

11. Continence

12. Chastity


Four Cardinal Virtues

1. Justice

2. Prudence

3. Temperance

4. Fortitude


Three Theological Virtues

1. Charity

2. Hope

3. Faith


Seven Deadly Sins

1. Pride

2. Anger

3. Envy

4. Sloth

5. Gluttony

6. Lust

7. Avarice

bottom of page